Jurassic World

Alright, as per usual, I saw this movie a whole lot earlier-like the first week it came out- but I obviously procrastinated a lot so I’m doing this now. Anyway, I am a huge fan of the Jurassic Park movies so I may be a bit biased about this, but it was absolutely AMAZING. I know, I know, I say that a lot. Maybe I’m just easy to please or hard to disappoint but it truly was absolutely stunning. I cannot wait to see it again, I plan on seeing it with my friends sometime and then also getting it when it comes out on DVD this fall. Since I’m being such a fangirl bout this, I’m going to go a bit deeper into this. and in case it wasn’t obvious, this post is probably going to involve spoilers. so if that bothers you, I suggest you don’t read this until after you’ve watched the movie.

*Contains spoilers*

Plot:

Okee Dokee, in case you don’t know about any of the Jurassic Park movies, I’m going to fill you in a bit. The first Jurassic Park came out in 1993 which was based off of a book published in 1990 written by Michael Crichton. The movie was an instant sensation and opened a lot of people up to paleontologists’ new theories about dinosaurs, such as they were more similar to birds than to reptiles. There were a total of I think about 3 Jurassic Park movies (not including Jurassic World) the third one having come out in 2001.

The first movie, Jurassic Park is about how a man named John Hammond owns an Island off the coast of Costa Rica, on which his team of scientists have figured out how to de-extinct ancient creatures from the Jurassic period. They key lies with something that still exists today, mosquitoes. The mosquitoes would drink the blood of dinosaurs and sometimes directly afterward, they would land on the trunk of a tree and get stuck in the sap. This would result in the mosquitoes getting fossilized and preserving the blood inside. The scientists drill into the amber and are able to extract the blood inside-giving them “Dino-DNA”. To fill in the holes of the incomplete DNA strands, they would use the complete DNA of a frog.By only breeding females, they were able to control population size. Now- I don’t want to spoil the whole movie for you if you haven’t seen it yet so I’ll leave out the major details on how things happened and why they happened, but basically the dinosaurs get out and kill a lot of people- the main characters barely escape- and Jurassic Park is put to rest as an attraction.

In Jurassic World, the events of the first movie have taken place, but after Mr. Hammond died, he left his good friend, Mr. Masrani, with the dream of the park and how he’d hoped to “captivate the imagination” of youths and adults alike. Mr. Masrani decides to give the park another go, taking advantage of the technology and science now at his disposal. The park, according to the film at least, opened up again in 2005, and has been running successfully for the past ten years. 2005 is also the year that the website, www.jurassicworld.com was launched to “promote” the park. According to Ms. Claire Dearing, the park reveals a new attraction every year to keep the public interested. To quote Mr. John Arnold from the first film, “This park has all the issues of a major theme park and a zoo”. Meaning they have to deal with keeping the public interested, technical difficulties, and also getting the animals to come out on time. Luckily, Mr. Masrani, or rather the people that work for him, are ale to figure it all out. Jurassic World has been running without incident and they’ve even got a new attraction to give kids, and parents, nightmares. The Indominus Rex, a genetically modified hybrid who is bigger than a T-Rex, has about 88 teeth that are constantly replacing themselves-much like a shark, and also has pale leathery skin.

To give you a broad summary based off of what they show in the trailer, the Indominus obviously escapes and wreaks havoc throughout the park, putting many of the main characters, and countless innocent lives, at risk. So, pretty similar to the first movie with the only real difference being the fact that Jurassic Park was not an operating facility during the events of the movie- limiting the number of lives that could be taken but still terrifying. In Jurassic World however, the park is fully functional with hundreds of thousands of families and tourists.

This movie had me on edge from the moment the previews started to the second the credits started rolling. It also introduced me to my new celebrity crush Chris Pratt- don’t mock me but I haven’t seen Guardians of the Galaxy yet so yes this is the first movie I’ve seen with him in it. He does a wonderful job playing the reasonable person who tries to knock some sense into everybody else. This is the only guy in pretty much the whole first part of the movie who really sees the danger in the park and especially in the creation of the Indominus. Owen Grady, Raptor trainer extraordinaire and hunkalicious skeptic of the island and all of its operators. There are a few other character worth mentioning as well, like Claire Dearing who is basically the operations manager for the park. She doesn’t really see how dangerous some of the animals at the park are and is very much a control freak.  Other than her there’s also the two boys, Zach and Gray Mitchell who are at the park as a treat for them- all expenses covered due to the fact that Claire is their Aunt. Though Claire doesn’t really have a relationship with the boys she and their parents have them on this trip so that the boys don’t have to be at home and live through the process of divorce that their parents are currently going through.

Okay, opinion time!

In case you haven’t noticed, I am a huge fan of Jurassic Park and so I’m obviously a teensy bit bias about this, but in all honesty it was a great movie! The plot flowed really well and was a perfect fit with the other movies. I particularly enjoyed the part that the raptors had as they have always been my favorite dinosaur throughout the Jurassic films. I’ve heard that they’d planning on making another movie, but I’m not really sure where else they could take the story line. They’ve already explored the possibility of separate parks in earlier films. I will say that I missed Ian Malcolm’s presence in this movie but I appreciated his cameo in the form of a book on a tech person’s desk. Claire was also a bit much to swallow but overall I love her development as a character. I do wish that we could have had a bit more background on Owen but perhaps they’ll cover it in another movie. Here’s hoping, right?

Obviously, I now own  copy of this book and if you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend that you do.

Happy Watching,

Maddison C. Jones

Leave a comment