Book Review: Obsidian

I was the beginning, he was the end. And together, we were everything

Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian is the first book in The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Let me just start off by saying that once I started reading this book, I did not want to put it down. The world could have been ending outside my house and I would have still been reading it. JLA does an amazing job at making this sci-fi novel seem completely relatable! There’s a total of five books in the series, Obsidian, Onyx, Opal, Origin, and Opposition.

Obsidian is told from the main female character’s point of view, Katy Swartz as she and her mom have moved from Florida to Petersburg, Virginia in order to help them both move past the recent death of her father. Katy absolutely hates Virginia, even more so now that she’ met her neighbors. Daemon Black, the cutie next door, turns out to be the rudest person Katy’s ever encountered, meanwhile his twin sister Dee is probably the sweetest person Katy’s ever met. Daemon’s rudeness isn’t the most shocking thing in the world however, as Katy very quickly learns that he, his sister, and a few of their class mates aren’t even human. They are a species of alien called Luxen, beings of light. They are both beautiful and frightening, their inclusion in Katy’s life changes everything forever, whether they want it to or not.

Now, I’m not usually into Sci-fi books with aliens and what not, but one of my closest friends recommended this to me, so I gave it a try. I must say, I am so happy I took a leap of faith with this book as it was truly amazing and was so easy to connect with. Katy herself is very into books and shares similar T.V. tastes as me and so I felt an immediate connection with her. I know this may seem geared more towards YA girls, but trust me, you’ve got to give this book a try. I ended up really appreciating Katy as a main character due to the contrast she has against the stereotypical archetype that female leads usually fall into. Unlike other female leads, Katy bites back. She doesn’t take everything lying down and instead does her very best to adapt to the new situations she finds herself in. A personal pet peeve of mine is when a female character forgives too easily, maybe because I’m just a bit of a vindictive person. Because of this peeve of mine, I particularly love the fact that Katy doesn’t immediately forgive Daemon after he changes his tune towards her. She makes him work a bit for his forgiveness and I feel that their dynamic as a whole is better for it.

Aside from being an incredible read, there’s a lot of beautiful quotes in the book and it also brings in  bit of reality. Which is strange considering the genre. I highly recommend this book to any who may be interested in it. I read it initially through the local library, but have since bought the set of books. J.L.A. is an amazing author as well and I feel that’s why her stories, fantastical as they are, have so much realism and relatability. I’ve also read another series from her called The Dark Elements. All in all, it’s a fantastic book and definitely worth the read.

Happy Reading,

Maddison C. jones

Leave a comment