Movie Review: Left Behind

*Warning : Contains Spoilers*

I don’t know about any of you, but I spent New Year’s Eve watching movies until midnight, fun I know, but it gave me some good things to write about.

The movie I want to talk to you about is called Left Behind starring Nicolas Cage. Now, I love Nicolas Cage, I believe the first movie I ever saw with him was National Treasure, which I loved so much that I started watching any movie that was in anyway similar. In Left Behind, Nic Cage plays a pilot for a commercial airline His daughter comes home from college to visit him and the rest of the family for his birthday, only to find out that he had accepted to fly a plane to London that day. Though he says that it was last minute and he had no choice in the matter, he had actually been planning this for about two weeks to get away from his wife. His Daughter, Chloe, finds out about this and blames her mother for it, thinking that her sudden devotion to Christianity is the cause for her father’s distance. Upset, she take her little brother to the mall to have some fun and let go of her anger. This is where the real plot begins.

While at the mall, people begin to vanish, all the children are just- poof-gone. Some of the adults have vanished as well along with some of the elderly. Chaos erupts, planes are crashing because the pilots have vanished, people are stealing because there’s not as many people there to stop them, hospitals are overloaded with new cases caused by crashes. Back with Nicolas Cage, everyone on the plane is freaking out because some of their loved ones have vanished. Nicolas Cage’s character must figure out what is going on and how and where to land once a collision with another plane causes a fuel leak and for his navigation system to cease working.

Okay, this movie was very, very religious. if that doesn’t suit you then steer clear from this one. Now aside from the religious aspect, which I really didn’t mind, there wasn’t much going on beside that. Now remember this is just my opinion, so if you disagree that’s totally fine. Chloe’s character spends most of the film running around searching for her brother, even after she knows what’s happened, she is still running around seemingly aimlessly. I enjoyed some parts I didn’t enjoy others. I really enjoy Nicolas Cage, but this movie was definitely something I was half forcing myself to sit through. So would I recommend it? Yeah, maybe, if you like religious movies mixed with airplane movie and Nicolas Cage, then yeah I would. As for overall rating, I’d probably give it a solid 4.5 out of 10.

Sincerely,

Maddison C. Jones

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Left Behind

  1. I love Nicholas Cage but have not seen this. I’m sure its good, clean entertainment which is refreshing amidst much of the fare. But I just leave “Left Behind” behind. The rapture scenario is not what the Bible teaches. http://textsincontext.wordpress.com/2013/05/11/second-coming-rapture-vs-scripture-christian/

    It is interesting that you call this a religious movie. Christianity Today emphasized that “Left Behind is not a Christian Movie…”

Leave a comment