Movie Review: About Time

Hello Everyone! So this week I watched “About Time” and as I haven’t written in a while, I figured I’d share my thoughts with you. By the way, I’m terribly sorry for not having this up on Friday, I got swamped with a lot more work than I was expecting. Anyway, onto the plot!

“About Time” Is about a man named Tim who just cannot seem to get a girlfriend. Come New Years day, his father pulls him aside and tells him about a secret ability all the men in their family possess, the ability to travel back in time to any point of their lives. Skeptical at first, Tim soon learns that his father wasn’t playing a rude joke on him, and that the ability is real. Ecstatic about this realization, Tim decides to use this ability to find a girlfriend. He soon learns however, that not even time travel can make someone love you. Then, he meets Mary, an American girl he absolutely adores. They hit it off but a quick jump back in time causes them to never meet. He’s able to right the situation, but he still must learn the limits of his power and becomes well acquainted with the butterfly effect.

Okay, let me tell you, this is most definitely a “Chick Flick” To any of you hoping this was sort of like Doctor Who, it wasn’t, I mean, yeah there was time travel, but it was most definitely not Doctor Who. This is one of those movies that kind of grows on you as it progresses. At the beginning I was basically giving it a time limit to see if it would get me hooked or not. Obviously in some way or another it did as I watched the entire thing, but it was slightly predictable, as most love stories are-My opinion- but it was a cute movie and definitely a good way to spend a Thursday night. There was a lot of fluff and not much angst. If you’re in the mood for something like that, then I would certainly recommend this movie. But, if you’re like a couple of my friends and avoid romance movies at all cost, then yeah, stay away.

Something else I really enjoyed about this movie was that the entire thing basically told you, live each day to the fullest. Unlike Tim, we can’t turn back the clock so we have to live each day so that we don;t have to regret anything. I also loved the fact that it showed you that one small thing could alter your future, for better or for worse.

If there was one thing I could change in the movie, I might add a bit more drama, just enough to keep me on the edge of my seat and my heart in my throat. That’s just my personal preference though. when I watch a romantic movie, for some reason unknown to me, I like to torture myself by watching something that’s going to make me incredibly sad before it makes me happy. I just like a movie so much more if it can move me that much. This movie was extremely fluffy, anytime there was a sad moment it was over quite swiftly which made the sadness a bit easier to swallow.

Overall, as I’ve said before, It’s very much a Chick Flick and it’s pretty sappy. It’s also humorous and it kept me laughing, both genuinely and sarcastically. As it claims, it’s a feel-good family movie, and I actually enjoyed it quite a bit. Did I enjoy it enough to go out and buy it? No probably not. But If it’s on the television and I’ve got nothing else to do then I wouldn’t mind watching it again. Made me think of all the things that I wish I could do over. Though I can’t, because unlike Tim I can’t go back, I now feel like I’m actively thinking about what I could do to prevent Future regrets. Which is a step in the right direction at least.

Have a Wonderful Week,

Maddison C. Jones

Leave a comment